A designed graphic of colourful shapes on a grey background
Somerset House Studios

Assembly 2020: New Works

23 - 27 Sep 2020
Premieres from 19.00
Available on demand from Mon 28 Sep

Each audio work will be available to listen to on assembly2020.co from 28 Sep 2020, for a year.


Presenting a special digital edition of ASSEMBLY - five nightly premieres of new sound works, through a newly developed immersive listening platform.

ASSEMBLY 2020 premieres five new online spatial sound works over five nights from Loraine James, Kelman Duran, Zadie Xa, Ben Vince and Lafawndah, showcasing material developed during a four-month artist residency at Somerset House Studios. Composed in collaboration with resident spatial sound producers Call & Response, these five original works see the artists explore new innovations within the fields of immersive listening; compositions that, housed within an interactive three-dimensional environment, will invite audiences to listen, visualise and navigate sound in new ways. 

Assembly 2020's artist residency programme Sonic Terrains is supported by Jerwood Arts' Development Programme Fund.

Media partner: The Wire